top of page

WN Fliquet

JWT coming soon.jpg

Fliquet Tower was constructed before 1790’s and is believed to have been constructed to the same design as St Catherine Tower. At some point, the mâchicoulis were removed reducing the height of the tower. During the Occupation, the Germans modified the area including the tower. They made use of a telephone cable running ashore from France which had not been destroyed when the English forces evacuated. This cable connection was a vital telephone link to France for the Germans, well until the American forces took control of the French cost and destroyed the link in late August 44.


Two NCOs and ten Other Ranks

German Record Details

1 x le.MG 34
1 x s.MG 34
1 x 5,2cm Gr.W. (r)
1 x 10,5cm Kanone
1 x 40cm Handscheinwerfer
1 x Alarmschussgerät

Weapons and Equipment

One light Machine Gun 34
One heavy Machine Gun 34
One 5cm Russian mortar
One 10.5cm French gun
One 40cm hand searchlight
One flare apparatus

Objective and Function (translated)

The Resistance Nest Fliquet has orders to prevent enemy landings in Fliquet Bay, especially enemy attack against the Cable House. Against air landings in the proximity immediately engage in fighting. By attempted enemy landings in the Fliquet Bay engage in fighting and work in co-operation against landings with Mole Verclut.

WW2 Maps & Documents
WW2 Aerial Photos